Spirit FestivalParking
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Yiddish Shmueskrayz with Tamara Gleason Freidberg

June 14 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Compressed By Jpeg Recompress

Join us to practice your Yiddish and have a good time getting to know fellow Yiddish speakers! We will speak in mame-loshn about diverse topics, including conversation both as a group and in smaller cohorts. We will also try to solve a couple of riddles and learn some Yiddish expressions and sayings to enrich your repertoire. The session will be broadcast on Zoom.

Where: In person at Yiddishland California and online via Zoom

When: Tuesday, June 14, 11:00 a.m PT at Yiddishland California and broadcast via Zoom (1:00 p.m. CT, 2:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. in the UK, 8:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel)

In-person cost of admission: $10 suggested donation Zoom cost of admission: $10 suggested donation
Facilitator: Tamara Gleason Freidberg is a historian (MPhil by UNAM, Mexico) and a gerontologist (MSc by King’s College London). She is the author of Di Shvue, los bundistas en México y su participación en la comunidad judía. Her work includes publications on Mexican Yiddish literature and the Jewish Left in Mexico. Tamara facilitates Yiddish sessions at the Holocaust Survivor’s Centre, is an active organiser of the Yiddish Open Mic (London) and Yiddish House London. As a PhD candidate at UCL London, she currently studies the Yiddish press in Mexico, its’ sources and its’ unique role in the communication of news about the Holocaust as it developed.

Details

Date:
June 14
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, , ,
Website:
www,yiddishlandcalifornia.org

Venue

Yiddishland
1128 Wall Street
LA JOLLA, CA 92037
Phone:
8582202992
View Venue Website

Organizer

Jana Mazurkiewicz Meisarosh
Phone:
619-719-1776
Email:
info@yiddishlandcalifornia.org
View Organizer Website