Art WalkParking
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Yom Hashoah Program with Dr. Sheva Zucker

May 1 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Free
Yom

Using the voices and texts of her new book and recording The Golden Peacock: The Voice of the Yiddish Writer BILINGUAL as a basis for discussion, join Yiddish teacher and scholar Sheva Zucker in a class on Yiddish Holocaust writing. Hear Yankev Glatshteyn’s “A gute nakht, velt,” (Good Night, World) Celia Dropkin only known Holocaust poem, “Shvere gedanken,” (Heavy Thoughts). ,Kadya Molodowsky’s iconic “Eyl khanon,” (Merciful God), Eli Wiesel’s Babi Yar, and more, all recited by the authors themselves. The class will be conducted in Yiddish.

When: Sunday, May 1 at 4 p.m. PST, 7 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST

Cost: Free! A $10 donation is suggested but not required.

Details

Date:
May 1
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
, , ,
Event Tags:
, , , , ,
Website:
https://yaaana.org/yom-hashoah/

Venue

The Yiddish Arts and Academics Association of North America
1128 Wall Street
La Jolla, CA 92037
+ Google Map
Phone:
8582202992
View Venue Website

Organizer

Yiddishland California
Phone:
8582202992
Email:
jana@yaaana.org
View Organizer Website