Our next meeting is taking place IN-PERSON at the La Jolla Riford Library, 7770 Draper Avenue | Wednesday, May 11, 4:00 PM. Please RSVP Here.

Board Elections, Committees & Meetings

Meet your 2021-2022 Board of Directors and join us each 2nd Wednesday of the month at 4:00 PM for our membership and board meeting.  All are welcome to attend. See the detailed Board Of Directors Roster HERE.

Meeting Information: As we emerge from COVID restrictions our meetings will take place to best serve the needs of our members.  

View and download the May 2022 Agenda HERE
View and download the Minutes from our April 2022 Minutes HERE

Marketing Happy Hour Each month, the Marketing and Events Committee meets for a Happy Hour Brainstorming session.  Thanks to the team at La Valencia Hotel who generously hosted our group in March.  Join us this month, May 24 at 4:00 PM at BFree Studio catered by Small Goods.  Learn more and RSVP HERE.

About the Board of Directors

The La Jolla Village Merchants Association is guided by a 15 person Board of Directors which sets policies and strategies, under the guidelines set forth by the City of San Diego’s Economic Development Department Operation Manual. These hard-working volunteers are the driving force behind the success of the organization.  The Board meets on the second Wednesday of every month at 4:00 PM at the Riford Library located at 7555 Draper Ave, La Jolla.  All members of the public are invited to attend.  The executive board is comprised of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary.

Each year our board reviews our bylaws to ensure that we are meeting the mission and goals of a diverse community.  Board members are sworn to serve LJVMA members by taking part in professional development workshops and completing documents to comply with these standards:

To learn more about and apply for the La Jolla Village Merchant’s Association Board of Directors complete this Self Nomination Form Open Board PositionsMid-year vacancies are filled as needed throughout the year. Applications can be submitted at any time.

4 Points Committee 1200 1

La Jolla Village Merchants Association, Inc. hosts its Committees based on the National Main Street’s “Four Points” Program. Three of the Committees (Promotions, Design & Economic Development) may meet monthly and make recommendations to the Board of Directors (Organization).  Meeting topics include events, activities, promotions and other issues that impact La Jolla Village Merchants.

Successful And Happy Business Team

Get Involved!

Anyone can volunteer with the La Jolla Village Merchants Association!  Whether you are interested in joining a committee or prefer to lend a hand at a signature La Jolla event (such as the Concours d’ Elegance, Holiday Festival, La Jolla Art and Wine Fest to name a few) we welcome your participation. Here is a list of ongoing volunteer opportunities.  If you are interested in getting involved at any level please send an email to jodi@lajollabythesea.com.

Organizational Excellence (Executive Committee meets virtually the 1st Wednesday of every month )

Involves creating a strong foundation for a sustainable organization including cultivating partnerships, increasing membership, community involvement, and resources for the Village. Explores new revenue streams and maximizes existing opportunities.

Design and Ambience (Enhance La Jolla)

Supports a community’s transformation by enhancing the physical and visual assets that set the commercial district apart. La Jolla Village has a Maintenance Assessment District (MAD) that is directly responsible for upkeep, cleanliness, and landscape maintenance in the Village.  LJVMA has historically assisted with holiday decor.  Learn more about Enhance La Jolla HERE.

Marketing, Events & Promotions – Meets for a monthly Happy Hour on the 4th Tuesday of the Month

Everyone is welcome for marketing and mingling by joining this growing group of La Jolla’s innovators.  Together the committee develops strategies to showcase La Jolla Village’s unique characteristics through traditional and emerging marketing and publicity including social media, print, digital, and broadcast. Graphic designers, writers, and social media lovers are encouraged to join!

Special Event Volunteer

Throughout the year La Jolla hosts dozens of special events from the Concours d’Elegance (April) to The La Jolla Art and Wine Festival (October).  It takes hundreds of volunteers to bring these events to life and you’re invited to join the fun.  If you’d like to help out at these world-class activities email jodi@lajollabythe sea and we’ll get you connected.  

La Jolla Coastal Access and Parking Committee

Part of the La Jolla Community Planning Group, the Coastal Access and Parking Committee works with the California Coastal Commission to increase access to La Jolla’s beautiful coastline.  The La Jolla Village Merchants Association operates as a fiscal agent of the LJCAP program and holds three seats on its Board. Merchants interested in serving on this or other community boards as a representative of the LJVMA can contact Jodi@lajollabythesea.com.  Access related documents below:

Memorandum of Understanding between the California Coastal Commission and the City of San Diego pertaining to the La Jolla Coastal Access and Parking Committee’s Scope of Services

Ace Mobility Solutions Parking Consultant Report 2019

2020-21 Board of Directors

Amber Anderson, President
Pacific Sotheby’s La Jolla

Morgan Barnes, Vice President
Cove House

Joelyn Cullen, Treasurer
Lifetime La Jolla

Cody Decker
Decker’s Dog + Cat

Karen Finerman
Empress Hotel La Jolla

Andy Fotsch
Will and Fotsch Architects

Gabriela Guevara
Blue Apparel

Katey Longo
Peter Lik Fine Art

Nicole Perez
Bang and Olufsen

Jen Pham
Saigon Spring Jewelry/La Jolla Gem Appraisal

Karen Roque
Team Chodorow, Berkshire Hathaway

Summer Shoemaker, Secretary
La Valencia Hotel

Lauren Turton
Ciao Ciao Piadina

Dr. Maddie Wallace
Awaken Chiropractic