Spirit FestivalParking
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Events from Warwick’s: Emily Hourican

May 6, 2021 @ 12:00 pm

La Jolla by the Sea

On Thursday, May 6th at 12:00pm PDT Warwick’s will host journalist, magazine editor and acclaimed novelist, Emily Hourican, as she discusses her new book, The Glorious Guinness Girls, in conversation with acclaimed author of Gaijin, Sarah Z. Sleeper. This is a free virtual event on Facebook Live. More information is available at warwicks.com.

 

For interview requests, please contact Kamrun Nesa Kamrun.Nesa@hbgusa.com.

About the book: From London to Ireland during the 1920s, this glorious, gripping, and richly textured story takes us to the heart of the remarkable real-life story of the Guinness Girls – perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Julian Fellowes’ Belgravia. Descendants of the founder of the Guinness beer empire, they were the toast of 1920s high society, darlings of the press, with not a care in the world. But Felicity knows better. Sent to live with them as a child because her mother could no longer care for her, she grows up as the sisters’ companion. Both an outsider and a part of the family, she witnesses the complex lives upstairs and downstairs, sees the compromises and sacrifices beneath the glamorous surface. Then, at a party one summer’s evening, something happens that sends shock waves through the entire household. Inspired by a remarkable true story and fascinating real events, The Glorious Guinness Girls is an unforgettable novel about the haves and have-nots, one that will make you ask if where you find yourself is where you truly belong.

Details

Date:
May 6, 2021
Time:
12:00 pm

Venue

La Jolla, CA United States

Organizer

Warwick’s
Phone:
858-454-0347
Email:
marketing@warwicks.com
View Organizer Website